squid blog

Now this is my actual blog. Enjoy !

- - - - -

September 20th, 2024

I said this blog will be more personal, and my first ever post is about Splatoon, of course. Well, whatever, it's my blog! I make the rules! And, this Splatoon post is personal. For a bit of context, September 12th through 15th was the in game event of Grand Fest; this games final splatfest. No, I won't be explaining what a splatfest is. Do your own research.

A Splatoon 3 formatted Splatfest prompt. The question is 'which is the most important to you?' The three choices are Past, Present, or Future. Red, purple and lime are the colors representing each team respectively.

^ The theme of the Grand Fest. I found myself on Team Present. "Future is a mystery, yesterday is history, today is a gift and that's why we call it the present" blah, blah, blah. No, I didn't pick it for Pearlina, shut up. Fun fact: I played the entirety of Splatoon 3, plus a year of Splatoon 2, and never won a single Splatfest. I was really hoping that I would win the final one.

Over 50 matches, 2 100x wins, and 5 10x wins later, I was pretty sick and tired of the squid game. I reached ruler rank, and was confident in my chances of finally winning. Oh, man, was I wrong. Past won, with 500 points. RIP to Future, who scored an impressive zero points. Yeah, I was pretty salty (still am, honestly), but congratulations to team Past. I guess >:(

Seriously, though, the whole fest was absolutely beautiful. I'll include some photos I got below here. Teams and competition aside, this was probably one of the coolest events I have ever experienced in a video game. Nintendo, you make me so mad, but I guess I will love you for once.